Skip to content

EdNC. Essential education news. Important stories. Your voice.

Regional NC Teachers of the Year named

The following is a press release from Public Schools of North Carolina

Nine teachers from across North Carolina have been selected as the state’s regional Teachers of the Year for their dedication, innovation and ability to inspire students to achieve and will now compete for the title of 2017 Burroughs Wellcome Fund North Carolina Teacher of the Year. The winner succeeds the 2016 Teacher of the Year, Bobbie Cavnar, a high school English and journalism teacher at South Point High in Gaston County.

The 2017 North Carolina Regional Teachers of the Year are:

  • Northeast: Amy Parker, Hertford Grammar (Perquimans County Schools);
  • Southeast: Lisa Godwin, Dixon Elementary (Onslow County Schools);
  • North Central: Miles MacLeod, Heritage High (Wake County Schools);
  • Sandhills: Juandalynn Ray, Sampson Middle (Clinton City Schools);
  • Piedmont-Triad: Adam Reeder, Asheboro High (Asheboro City Schools);
  • Southwest: Anthony Johnson, Jr., Isenberg Elementary (Rowan-Salisbury Schools);
  • Northwest: Carrie Franklin, Glenwood Elementary (McDowell County Schools);
  • Western: Leslie Schoof, Madison Early College High (Madison County Schools); and
  • Charter Schools: Deborah Brown, Research Triangle High (Research Triangle Park).

The 2017 Burroughs Wellcome Fund North Carolina Teacher of the Year will be announced April 6 at an awards ceremony in Cary. North Carolina has recognized outstanding teachers through its Teacher of the Year program since 1970. Questions may be directed to NCDPI Communications at 919.807.3450.



EdNC staff reporting relies on staff, interns, and columnists.