Skip to content

EdNC. Essential education news. Important stories. Your voice.

​*Board of Directors

Dr. Margaret H. Annunziata
President, Isothermal Community College
Dr. Elena Ashburn
Central Area Superintendent, Wake County Public School System; 2021 NC Wells Fargo Principal of the Year
Dr. Valerie Bridges
2022 North Carolina Superintendent of the Year
Russ Campbell
Senior Communications Officer, Burroughs Wellcome Fund
*Dr. Donnell Cannon
Executive Director, Maureen Joy Charter School
*Newell Clark
Commissioner, North Carolina Historic Commission; Former Mayor, Lexington, NC
Dr. Scott Elliott
Director of Development, Blue Ridge Conservancy; Former Superintendent, Watauga County Schools
Eugenia Floyd
Equity Specialist for Instructional Equity, Chapel Hill-Carrboro City Schools; 2021 Burroughs Wellcome Fund North Carolina Teacher of the Year
Astrid Emily Francis
High School ESL Teacher, Cabarrus County Schools
*Sonja Gantt
Executive Director, CMS Foundation
Victoria Griffin
Chief Administrative Office Analyst, Bank of America
*Ferrel Guillory
Founder, EducationNC
Gerry Hancock
Founder, EducationNC
D. Craig Horn
Former Representative, District 68, North Carolina General Assembly
*Dr. Anthony D. Jackson
Superintendent, Chatham County Schools
​Amy L. Kovac-Ashley
Head of National Programs, Lenfest Institute for Journalism
*Dr. Steve Lassiter
Assistant Superintendent of Educational Programs and Services, Pitt County Schools; 2014-15 North Carolina Principal of the Year
Freebird McKinney
Director of Partnership Development, Participate Learning; 2018 Burroughs Wellcome Fund NC Teacher of the Year
Dwight Miller
Impact Officer, John M. Belk Endowment
*Kayla Romero Morais
Chief Growth Officer, Our Turn
Jose Oliva
Chief of Staff, Guilford County Schools
Cyndi Soter O'Neil
Director of Strategic Philanthropy, IMC/ChildTrust Foundation; Co-Chair, Invest Early NC
Erica Beshears Perel
Director, Center for Innovation and Sustainability in Local Media, UNC Hussman School of Journalism and Media
*Dr. Monique Perry-Graves
Executive Director, Teach for America: North Carolina
Dr. Mark Poarch
President, Caldwell Community College and Technical Institute
*Mebane Rash
CEO, President, and Editor-in-Chief
Dr. Pamela G. Senegal
President, Piedmont Community College
John L.S. Simpkins
President and CEO, MDC
Dr. David Stegall
Chief of Staff, Blue Ridge Community College
Dr. Deanna Townsend-Smith
Senior Director, Dudley Flood Center for Educational Equity & Opportunity
Elaine Townsend Utin
Executive Director & Co-Founder, LatinxEd
Yona Wade
Former Secretary of Education and Recreation, the Eastern Band of Cherokee