Skip to content

EdNC. Essential education news. Important stories. Your voice.

Perspective | Tar Heel Teachers at Home: Celebrating the 2020 Marvin R. Pittman Champions for Education

Tar Heel Teachers at Home is a weekly videocast focused on engaging North Carolinians in conversations about education. Each week, a panel of educators interview a guest(s).

In this videocast, the Tar Heel Teachers chat with the 2020 Marvin R. Pittman Champions for Education: Tonya Fletcher, support staff recipient and digital learning/media innovation facilitator at Franklin Elementary in Surry County, Dr. Pamela Walthall, administrator recipient and principal of Vick Elementary in Wilson County, Cara Wolford, support staff administrator recipient and K-12 curriculum and professional development coordinator for Kannapolis City Schools, and Aimee Trawick, volunteer recipient and PTO president at Cartoogechaye Elementary in Macon County.

This week’s panel:

  • Moderator: Marlow M. Artis, Creator, Chief Content Purveyor, & Executive Producer of Tar Heel Teachers. Twitter: @TarHeelTeachers
  • Elementary School Panelist: Amy Tart, 5th Grade Math/Science Teacher in Clay County Schools. Twitter: @Cards4Scholars
  • Middle School Panelist: Dr. La’Chandra Parker, EC Inclusion Teacher at the Innovation Academy at South Campus in Johnston County Public Schools. Twitter: @ceeceecnc
  • High School Panelist: Mika Twietmeyer, Biology Teacher at Riverside High in Durham Public Schools. Twitter: @MikaJHunter
  • Support Personnel Panelist: Yasmeen Robbins, Assistant Principal at Terry Sanford High in Cumberland County Schools. Twitter: @robbinseducates
  • Guest(s)
    • Tonya Fletcher (Support Staff Recipient & Digital Learning/Media Innovation Facilitator at Franklin Elementary in Surry County). Twitter: @tonya_nc
    • Dr. Pamela Walthall (Administrator Recipient & Principal of Vick Elementary in Wilson County). Twitter: @VickPanthers
    • Cara Wolford (Support Staff Administrator Recipient & K-12 Curriculum & Professional Development Coordinator for Kannapolis City Schools). Twitter: @carawolford
    • Aimee Trawick (Volunteer Recipient & PTO President at Cartoogechaye Elementary in Macon County).
Marlow Artis

Marlow Artis is the Creator and Chief Content Purveyor for Tar Heel Teachers, which encompasses a website, an educational panel talk show, a videocast: Tar Heel Teachers at Home, and an educational travel series: Tar Heel Teachers on the Road. In addition to moderating and executive producing these media platforms, he happily served for five years as a sixth grade English/Language Arts teacher.