Skip to content

EdNC. Essential education news. Important stories. Your voice.

Leadership award for aspiring superintendents announced

Share this story

  • The recipients of the Dr. Samuel Houston Jr. Leadership Award for aspiring supers via @ncsupers and NCASLD are Melody Boyd @CumberlandCoSch, Drew Cook @WCPSS, Dr. Nicholas King @DurhamPublicSch, Dr. Beth Penley @NCCSschools! #nced

Each year, the North Carolina School Superintendents’ Association (NCSSA) and the North Carolina Alliance for School Leadership Development (NCASLD) announce the recipients of the Dr. Samuel Houston Jr. Leadership Award for graduates of their Aspiring Superintendents Program.

The program prepares “current school leaders to become effective superintendents who will lead North Carolina school districts in the future,” according to the NCASLD website.

In 2024, this prestigious award, which is presented to transformational education leaders in North Carolina’s public schools, has been awarded to four recipients, according to a press release:

Jack Hoke, left, with Nicholas King. Courtesy of Jack Hoke

The award is named in honor of Dr. Samuel Houston, the president and CEO of the North Carolina Science, Mathematics, and Technology Education Center. Houston served as superintendent of the Mooresville Graded School District for ten years, and he has been a champion for strategic planning, student performance and accountability, meeting the needs of the 21st century workforce, skills for the STEM world, and building education partnerships.

“Boyd, Cook, King, and Penley all exemplify the traits that have guided Dr. Sam Houston’s career in educational leadership. They have a commitment to continuous improvement, high standards of ethical conduct, strategic planning, improving student performance, and meeting the needs of the 21st century workforce,” said NCSSA Executive Director Jack Hoke. “I look forward to seeing them progress in their leadership journey in education.”

Mebane Rash

Mebane Rash is the CEO and editor-in-chief of EducationNC.