Skip to content

EdNC. Essential education news. Important stories. Your voice.

FSU and Isothermal Community College partner on $10K pathway degree

The following is a press release from Isothermal Community College

Dr. James A. Anderson, Chancellor of Fayetteville State University (FSU), and Mr. Walter Dalton, President of Isothermal Community College (ICC), formally signed an agreement today that was approved by both institutions in September 2018. The agreement, the $10,000 ($10 K) Degree Pathway Partnership, allows ICC associate degree graduates to complete an online bachelor’s degree at FSU at a total cost of no more than $10,000 in out-of-pocket expenses, or approximately $5,000 at the ICC and $5,000 at FSU.  Students eligible for federal and state grants will likely pay less than $10,000 out of pocket.

Located in Spindale, NC, Isothermal Community College serves Rutherford and Polk Counties.

The $10K Pathway Plan opens the door to affordable bachelor’s degrees to ICC graduates in these online programs: Accounting, Birth through Kindergarten (non-teaching), Business Administration (General), Criminal Justice, Nursing and Psychology.  

“Fayetteville State University is excited to partner with isothermal Community College to offer one of the nation’s most affordable pathways to a bachelor’s degree,” said FSU Chancellor James Anderson. “Both FSU and ICC are committed to putting higher education within reach of every North Carolinian.”

Isothermal President, Mr. Dalton stated, “college affordability is a huge concern nationally, and this agreement between Isothermal Community College and Fayetteville State University addresses that concern.  With this agreement, Isothermal students not only can receive an affordable associate’s degree, but they will also have an excellent pathway to a bachelor’s degree and beyond at a great institution like FSU.  We are pleased to be a part of this partnership and look forward to working with Fayetteville State to provide students a great opportunity at an affordable price.”

The agreement was signed as part of the $10 K Degree Pathway Partners Convening held on the FSU campus on Monday, April 1, which brought together FSU faculty and staff with their counterparts at eleven North Carolina Community Colleges, which have either joined the program or are considering doing so.

About Fayetteville State University

Fayetteville State University is a constituent institution of The University of North Carolina and the second-oldest public institution of higher education in the state, having been founded in 1867. FSU offers degrees at the baccalaureate, master’s, and doctoral levels. With more than 6,200 students, Fayetteville State University is among the most diverse institutions in the nation. Chancellor James A. Anderson is the 11th chief executive officer.  To learn more about Fayetteville State University, visit 

About Isothermal Community College

Founded in 1964, Isothermal Community College serves Rutherford and Polk Counties in the beautiful foothills of western North Carolina. Isothermal is a comprehensive, two-year public institution and is accredited by the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Committee on Colleges. Isothermal is part of the North Carolina Community College System comprised of 58 community colleges. ICC offers degrees, diplomas and certificates in applied sciences and transfer programs. In May 2013, the Honorable Walter Dalton, former Lieutenant Governor of North Carolina, was appointed president by the College’s Board of Trustees. To learn more about Isothermal Community college visit


EdNC staff reporting relies on staff, interns, and columnists.