Skip to content

EdNC. Essential education news. Important stories. Your voice.


The 2020 Wells Fargo North Carolina Principal of the Year will be announced tomorrow, Friday, Aug. 28.

The state’s top principal is being selected from a field of eight regional finalists chosen earlier this year.

The regional principals of the year are:

  • West: Lori Fox, Haywood Early College (Haywood County Schools)
  • Northwest: Kisha Clemons, Shuford Elementary School (Newton-Conover City Schools)
  • Southwest: Jennifer Brinson, Wolf Meadow Elementary School (Cabarrus County Schools)
  • Piedmont: Ashley Lemley, Southwood Elementary (Davidson County Schools)
  • North Central: Ruth Steidinger, Olive Chapel Elementary (Wake County Schools)
  • Sandhills: Alfred Jean Hammond, Upchurch Elementary (Hoke County Schools)
  • Northeast: Sheila Evans, White Oak Elementary (Edenton-Chowan Schools)
  • Southeast: Deborah Hoffman, Jacksonville Commons Elementary (Onslow County Schools)

The event will be livestreamed on YouTube here. The announcement is expected to take place at 1:45pm.

These are the sources EdNC checks every day: The New York Times, The 74, Education Week, The NC Tribune, The Insider, The News & Observer, The Charlotte Observer, WUNC, WFAE, Brookings, Education Commission of the States, and DPI’s News. A cross section of diverse sources are checked weekly and monthly. If you have an article you think needs to be included, email [email protected].

Mebane Rash

Mebane Rash is the CEO and editor-in-chief of EducationNC.

View More EdDaily Posts