Skip to content

EdNC. Essential education news. Important stories. Your voice.


The State Board of Education Executive Committee met virtually Monday and voted to approve 17 Tier 1 and 2 school districts in North Carolina for the inaugural cohort of NC Education Corps. The Corps would train individuals from communities around the state to help their school districts in a variety of capacities including tutoring, mentoring, and more.

Read more about the NC Education Corps here.

Here are the 17 school districts: Ashe County Schools, Camden County Schools, Clinton City Schools, Cumberland County Schools, Elizabeth City-Pasquotank Schools, Halifax County Schools, Hickory City Schools, Jones County Schools, Lexington City Schools, Mount Airy City Schools, Newton-Conover City Schools, Perquimans County Schools, Person County Schools, Pitt County Schools, Stanly County Schools, Vance County School, Winston-Salem/Forsyth County Schools.

These are the sources EdNC checks every day: The New York Times, The 74, Education Week, The NC Tribune, The Insider, The News & Observer, The Charlotte Observer, WUNC, WFAE, Brookings, Education Commission of the States, and DPI’s News. A cross section of diverse sources are checked weekly and monthly. If you have an article you think needs to be included, email [email protected].

Mebane Rash

Mebane Rash is the CEO and editor-in-chief of EducationNC.

View More EdDaily Posts