Skip to content

EdNC. Essential education news. Important stories. Your voice.


Both the House and the Senate convene at noon. They will then take a break and reconvene in a few weeks when things will really kick off.

Senator Berger announced Senate committee chairs.

Here is who will lead the Education/Higher Education:

  • Chairs: Sens. Michael V. Lee, Amy S. Galey
  • Members: Sens. Lisa S. Barnes, Jay J. Chaudhuri, Kevin Corbin, David W. Craven, Jr., Michael Garrett, Bobby Hanig, Michael A. Lazzara, Natasha R. Marcus, Julie Mayfield, Tom McInnis, Natalie S. Murdock, E.S. “Buck” Newton, Brad Overcash, Gladys A. Robinson, Norman W. Sanderson, Benton G. Sawrey, Joyce Waddell

Here is who will lead Appropriations on Education/Higher Education:

  • Chairs: Sens. Amy S. Galey, Lisa S. Barnes, Dean Proctor
  • Members: Sens. Jay J. Chaudhuri, Bobby Hanig, Julie Mayfield, Brad Overcash, Joyce Waddell

The Professional Educator Preparation and Standards Commission (PEPSC) will hold a virtual monthly meeting on Thursday, Jan. 12, at 9 a.m.


These are the sources EdNC checks every day: The New York Times, The 74, Education Week, The NC Tribune, The Insider, The News & Observer, The Charlotte Observer, WUNC, WFAE, Brookings, Education Commission of the States, and DPI’s News. A cross section of diverse sources are checked weekly and monthly. If you have an article you think needs to be included, email [email protected].

Mebane Rash

Mebane Rash is the CEO and editor-in-chief of EducationNC.

View More EdDaily Posts