1868 Constitutional Convention RSS Feed

Displeased with the direction of the South after the Civil War, Congress passed the Military Reconstruction Acts that established requirements for confederate states to frame a constitution and civil government in order to be readmitted to the Union.

North Carolina, after following requirements for the election of delegates, convened a constitutional convention on January 14, 1868. We follow this convention now because of what it tells us not only about our constitution but how we approached change in a difficult — extraordinarily difficult — time.

 

Day 1 of the Convention

Tuesday, January 14, 1868 Commons Hall (House Chambers) of the State Capitol The convention met briefly on its first day,...

 

Day 2 of the Convention

Wednesday, January 15, 1868 Commons Hall (House Chambers) of the State Capitol  The delegates moved swiftly to the election of...

 

Day 3 of the Convention

Thursday, January 16, 1868 The Convention was called to order on Thursday at 11 o’clock, Mr. Pres. Cowles in the...

 

Day 4 of the Convention

Friday, January 17, 1868 The Convention was called to order on Friday at 11 o’clock, Mr. Pres. Cowles in the...

 

Day 5 of the Convention

Saturday, January 18, 1868 The Convention was called to order on Saturday at 11 o’clock, Mr. Pres. Cowles in the...

 

Day 6 of the Convention

Monday, January 20, 1868 The Convention was called to order on Monday at 11 o’clock, Mr. Pres. Cowles in the...

 

Day 7 of the Convention

Tuesday, January 21, 1868 The Convention was called to order on Tuesday at 11 o’clock, Mr. Pres. Cowles in the...

 

Day 8 of the Convention

Wednesday, January 22, 1868 The Convention was called to order on Wednesday at 11 o’clock, Mr. Pres. Cowles in the...

 

Day 9 of the Convention

Thursday, January 23, 1868 The Convention was called to order on Thursday at 11 o’clock, Mr. Pres. Cowles in the...

 

Day 10 of the Convention

Friday, January 24, 1868  The Convention was called to order on Friday at 11 o’clock, Mr. Pres. Cowles in the...

 

Day 11 of the Convention

Saturday, January 25, 1868 The Convention was called to order on Saturday at 11 o’clock, Mr. Pres. Cowles in the...

 

Day 12 of the Convention

Monday, January 27, 1868 The Convention was called to order on Monday at 11 o’clock, Mr. Pres. Cowles in the...